Historic Preservation Commission

Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission was created by Ordinance to promote the educational, cultural and economic welfare of the public by establishing uniform procedures to preserve the county's historic resources and by enhancing public participation and involvement in the preservation and protection of such resources, including buildings, structures, monuments and other historic resources. 

Section 12.03.500 of the Highlands County Code of Ordinances.
Ord. No. 03-04-1

Appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. 

The Historic Preservation Commission consists of seven (7) members; four (4) professional and three (3) lay members.  To the extent available in the County and willing to serve, professional members shall be appointed from the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, accounting, building design, history, architectural history, planning, archaeology, real estate development, law, building construction or other historic preservation related disciplines, such as urban planning, American studies, American civilization, cultural geography or cultural anthropology.

In the absence of the availability or willingness of such professionals, lay persons shall be appointed to the professional positions if they have demonstrated special interest, experience or knowledge in history, architecture or related disciplines. 

Members serve four-year terms.

Meetings are held quarterly.

Upcoming meeting agenda.

Commissioner & STAFF LIAISON:
Commissioner Kathy Rapp
Sandra Vazquez / Staff Liaison
(863) 402-6652

Kathy Couturier / Professional, Archaeologist
Term Expires: 06/30/2023

William Pollard, Jr. / Professional, History Writer
Term Expires: 06/30/2020

Joseph Gentili / Professional, Archivist
Term Expires: 06/30/2025

Term Expires: 06/30/2022

C. Keith Hunnicutt / Professional, Architect
Term Expires: 06/30/2022


Nancy Morrissey / Lay, Student
Term Expires: 06/30/2023